too many people know…

too many people know…

i got a smile on my face
not because i’m free from disgrace.
the smile on my face
has got nothing to do with this place.
i wear a smile on my face
not because i’m winning a race;
the smile on my face
is there because i can’t hold a straight face.
i put a smile on my face,
not because i know the feel of love’s embrace.
the smile on my face is there because
too many people know what i look like crying.
so i fix my face so that it doesn’t look like i’m dying.


i say i hold a smile even though victory’s out of my hands.
i told them that i hold a smile to make the loneliness easier to stand.
i know that i hold a smile to cover the holes that filled my plans.
i swear i hold a smile to prove that the pain made me a man.
i hope that i hold a smile that looks like i belong with my friends.
i believe that i hold a smile because i believe in the promised land.
but if the truth gets to be told,
it would say that i hold my frown upside down because,
too many people know what i look like crying.
so i fix my face so that they can see what i look like lying.


i smile because i have got nothing to smile about.
i smile even though i am my own unanswered prayer.
i smile because i only want to strain my neck and shout.
i smile even though i am looking for something that may not be there.
i smile because i dream and then wake up to doubt.
i smile even though i walk in the pain of a man whose soles are bare
i smile because too many people know what i look like crying.
so i fix my face to show that it was made for more than crying.

Leave a comment