Harlem Smoothie?


I have to say that I have a bittersweet feeling about the Harlem Shake videos dwindling away. Day after day the videos are going up and only getting hits in the five figures a day. Soon they will only be getting, maybe, five hundred hits an hour. The fact that one day I won’t have a new, thirty-second video of someone hysterically gyrating makes me sad. On the other hand, I am happy because soon people will no longer be able to declare their hate for the Shake with the self-righteousnes of someone rebuking the devil.

Haters hate. I get that, I really do, but come on, the Harlem Shake?!? Why even take the time to hate that? What get’s me is that people hate it with the same hate that should be reserved for illiteracy and date rape.

I will be the first to admit that YouTube is the family album that I don’t want my mother showing company but, at the same time, it is the same one I look at to remember my funny, drunk uncle. I will even go as far to say that when all is said and done, I want my YouTube channel on my headstone and if I am lucky there will be thirty seconds of me gyrating hysterically.

There is a reason that there won’t be any footage of me declaring my hate for the Shake or any other meme. That reason is, you can’t hate something that dumb and not come off as an old man yelling at kids for listening to the new rap music. As a matter of fact verbalizing your hate for the Harlem Shake is equal to saying that you don’t care for fun or the trouble that it brings. I should know, I have prayed away my share of ridiculous shit: the Spice Girls, BET’s Comic View and Sarah Palin. But, in the end, I know that without ridiculous shit, we would not have a way to burn away four or five hours a day in our cubicles.

Leave a Reply

